Shows in July 2011

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Shows This Month

July is looking like a strong month with some good outdoor shows.

  • July 9, 2011 – Sundowner @ Bottom Lounge (Volcano Room)
  • July 16, 2011 – Fleet Foxes, Dismemberment Plan @ Pitchfork
  • July 22, 2011 – Wild Flag @ Subterranean
  • July 23, 2011 – Wild Flag, Ha Ha Tonka, Riverboat Gamblers @ Wicker Park Festival
  • July 24, 2011 – Blitzen Trapper, Joe Pug, Ezra Furman, Netherfriends @ Wicker Park Festival
  • July 25, 2011 – Ted Leo and The Pharmacists @ Millennium Park

July 9, 2011 – Sundowner @ Bottom Lounge (Volcano Room)

So yeah, Sundowner is probably my favorite band. I just saw this guy play in SF last month and I’m going to see him again this month. It doesn’t hurt that this show is walking distance from me. It’s also the vinyl release party for his first album. It’s going to be at the Volcano Room so that’ll be a unique experience. Needless to say, I’m stoked.

July 16, 2011 – Fleet Foxes, Dismemberment Plan @ Pitchfork

I’m not really sure who else is playing this day but I’m going because I love these two bands. Fleet Foxes is a band that I would love to see at an intimate venue but apparently they only play festivals. I just saw Dismemberment Plan earlier this year at Metro but they put on a good show so I want to see them one more time before they break up again.

July 22, 2011 – Wild Flag @ Subterranean

I wanted to see these ladies at SXSW but I had to miss them due to some scheduling conflicts. Once this show was announced I grabbed a ticket immediately. I was a huge fan of Sleater-Kinney back in the day. I’m not too familiar with this band but I like everything I’ve heard so far. It should be a blast.

July 23, 2011 – Wild Flag, Ha Ha Tonka, Riverboat Gamblers @ Wicker Park Festival

For Wild Flag, see above. Ha Ha Tonka always puts on a good show. The last time I saw them was at Beat Kitchen with Rocky Votolato. They are the kind of band where you may not know them at the start of the set but you’ll be a fan by the end. The Riverboat Gamblers are a punk band from TX but I’m actually not that familiar with them. I’m guessing that they’ll put on a good show though.

July 24, 2011 – Blitzen Trapper, Joe Pug, Ezra Furman, Netherfriends @ Wicker Park Festival

I haven’t seen any of these guys in a while but they are all good. Blitzen Trapper is hard to pin down but they feel like they should have been around in the 70s. Joe Pug plays straight up folk music. Ezra Furman is a little folky but with more of an indie feel. It’s hard to tell what you’ll get with Netherfriends because sometimes it’s a band and sometimes it’s just one guy. This should make for an interesting day.


July 25, 2011 – Ted Leo and The Pharmacists @ Millennium Park

I’ve seen Ted Leo twice this year, but those were all solo shows. I haven’t seen Ted Leo with the Pharmacists since way back in November 2008 when he played the Riv with Against Me! It’ll be good to see him with the band. It’s a Millennium Park show. Those tend to be crowded, but I don’t think it’ll be too crazy, unless Ted Leo actually does that musical.

Leave a Reply

