Shows in April 2011

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Shows This Month

No surprise here, the good shows are Empty Bottle and Lincoln Hall.

  • April 5, 2011 – The Joy Formidable, The Lonely Forest @ Lincoln Hall
  • April 9, 2011 – Sharon Van Etten @ Lincoln Hall
  • April 22, 2011 – Maritime @ Empty Bottle
  • April 27, 2011 – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart @ Lincoln Hall

April 5, 2011 – The Joy Formidable, The Lonely Forest @ Lincoln Hall

It’s kind of funny, I was supposed to see the Joy Formidable in Austin but I missed them so I could see the Lonely Forest instead. The Lonely Forest put on a good show and they are touring with Death Cab soon. I think good things are in store for those guys. I’ve never seen the Joy Formidable before but they seem like they are good live. The energy they bring to the stage is apparent. This is complete speculation, but I could see them getting a spot on the Lolla bill this summer.

April 9, 2011 – Sharon Van Etten @ Lincoln Hall

I only started listening to Sharon Van Etten last month as I prepared for SXSW. Her music can be a tad depressing, but I think this show might be worth checking out. We’ll see how I’m feeling about this one when Saturday comes. I hope it doesn’t sell out.

April 22, 2011 – Maritime @ Empty Bottle

These guys just came out with a new album and I haven’t seen them in two years. It’s at Empty Bottle and it’s on a Friday night. There are plenty of reasons to go to this one.

April 27, 2011 – The Pains of Being Pure at Heart @ Lincoln Hall

This band put out one of the best albums of 2009 and their follow up might be even better. They have a ridiculous name but they put out good music. They kind of have a ’90s feel to them. I’ve never seen them live but I think this show will be worth it. I imagine that the next time they are in town, they’ll be playing somewhere bigger than Lincoln Hall.

Leave a Reply

