SXSW 2011 – Recap

Posted: March 25, 2011 in Show Review

SXSW was a little different for me this year than in years past. I brought my girlfriend whereas in the past I was just by myself. Also, I was more social this year, meeting up with friends for lunch and dinner, instead of just going music-crazy. I saw less bands than I did last year but I still had fun.

Thursday, the first day for me, I saw Givers @ Fader Fort, Owen Pallet and Telekinesis @ Mohawk, The Lonely Forest @ Klub Krucial, The Antlers @ Parish, and Ted Leo @ French Legation. I really enjoyed all those bands. I only saw a little bit of Givers because I was enjoying the many wonders of the Fader Fort.  I missed Telekinesis at Schubas so they were a must see, although it was hard to see since the inside of Mohawk was packed. I decided to see the Lonely Forest instead of the Joy Formidable because I figured it would be less crowded. The funny thing is, The Lonely Forest is opening for The Joy Formidable when they playe Lincoln Hall next month. I made it in to see the Antlers despite the somewhat intimidating line. They played nothing but songs from their new album, I can’t wait to pick that one up. We made a quick pit stop at the car before heading over to see Ted Leo at French Legation. It was good performance and it was really nice to sit in the grass and enjoy the music. I was burnt out by the end of the day. I wanted to see Sondre Lerche but I didn’t have to energy to make it. I had been up since 6 AM and I just wanted to rest.

The next day I was hanging with my cousin, who is under 21, so I tried to stick to all ages shows so he could hang out. We spent a ton of time at Mohawk where we saw Tristen, Wye Oak, and An Horse. I really liked An Horse, they are from Australia and they remind of Tegan & Sara. I think they even toured with Tegan & Sara once. After that we took a break for a while before we made it to Pitchfork Offline for Edwyn Collins. Then we tried to go to Fader Fort but gave up after seeing the line. My cousin eventually left so my girlfriend and I stopped by the IFC Crossroads House, where we got to see Fitz and the Tantrums. I’ve heard a lot about them but I’d never actually heard their music. I thought they were really good, very tight performance, I’d definitely see them again. After that my girlfriend and I went out to dinner with some Austin friends. We headed back downtown later that night to meet up with some Chicago friends at Beerland. I don’t remember who was playing there but it was a good time.

By Saturday we were pretty tired so we just saw Deer Tick at Mess With Texas and hit the road to Houston. It was pretty cool, they played “Been a Son” during soundcheck. Overall, it was a great time again and I’m sure I’ll be back next year.

Leave a Reply

