Shows in March 2011

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Shows This Month

There are a ton of good shows coming up this month. I’ll be checking out a few in Chicago, then flying to Austin for SXSW in the middle of the month, and then it’s back to Chicago. Judging from the past two years, March shapes up rather well for Lincoln Hall.

  • March 2, 2011 – Rival Schools @ Lincoln Hall
  • March 4, 2011 – Telekinesis, The Love Language @ Schubas
  • March 11, 2011 – Maps & Atlases @ Lincoln Hall
  • March 15-20, 2011 – SXSW
  • March 25, 2011 – Rocky Votolato, Matt Pond @ Subterranean
  • March 26, 2011 – The Rural Alberta Advantage @ Lincoln Hall

March 2, 2011 – Rival Schools @ Lincoln Hall

Rival Schools is one of those bands that I listened to back in college but really haven’t listened to since. They broke up a while back and only released one album. They reunited recently, recorded a new album, and are playing some shows. The new album sounds good but I’m not sure whether I’ll go to this one. I never got to see them back in the day but I’m already going to enough show this month.

March 4, 2011 – Telekinesis, The Love Language @ Schubas

I don’t know much about Telekinesis. I’ve heard one song by them and I liked it. However, I am a big fan of the Love Language. I’ve seen them twice and I’d like to see them again now that I am more familiar with their songs.

March 11, 2011 – Maps & Atlases @ Lincoln Hall

About a year ago, it seemed that I missed every opportunity to see these guys live. Since then, I’ve seen them three times so I finally get over that. If you do see them, try to get a good spot so you can check out the guitar work. This show is at Lincoln Hall so it’ll be hard to resist this one.

March 15-20, 2011 – SXSW

I’m flying to Texas to partake in some SXSW festivities. No official shows for me because I’m too poor for that. I should have plenty of music just sticking to the free shows. I haven’t finalized my schedule but I’m planning to see Ted Leo, Maritime, Ha Ha Tonka, Surfer Blood, and Dum Dum Girls among others.

March 25, 2011 – Rocky Votolato, Matt Pond @ Subterranean

For me, this show is the highlight of the month, the season, and possibly the year. These two guys are some of my favorite musicians. I’ve seen Rocky three times and each time was better than the last. He writes great music and plays great shows. I saw Matt Pond PA last year for the first time. It took me a few years to finally see them play but I really enjoyed it. Matt is playing solo for this one so it’ll be a little different than the last time.

March 26, 2011 – The Rural Alberta Advantage @ Lincoln Hall

By the time this show rolls around, it’ll be over a year since I last saw the RAA. Their music is good but their shows are even better. The drums set this band apart and that really comes across in the live shows. This show should rock. Plus, they are Canadian.

Leave a Reply

