Shows in January 2011

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Shows This Month

2011 gets off to a quick start, mostly because of Tomorrow Never Knows Festival:

  • January 8, 2011 – Weezer (Pinkerton show) @ Aragon
  • January 12, 2011 – The Helio Sequence @ Lincoln Hall
  • January 13, 2011 – Marketa Irglova @ Schubas
  • January 14, 2011 – Mister Heavenly @ Lincoln Hall
  • January 15, 2011 – The Handsome Furs @ Lincoln Hall
  • January 16, 2011 – S. Cary @ Schubas

January 8, 2011 – Weezer (Pinkerton show) @ Aragon

A band I don’t really like anymore playing at a venue I never really liked. If they weren’t playing Pinkerton, there is no way that I’d go to this one. However, Pinkterton is one of my favorite albums so I have to be there.

January 12, 2011 – The Helio Sequence @ Lincoln Hall

Like most of the bands playing TNK, I really don’t know too much about this band but they sound decent enough.

January 13, 2011 – Marketa Irglova @ Schubas

Well this woman is one half of the Swell Season a.k.a. the band from Once. I could’t find much of her solo work but I think this should be an interesting show.

January 14, 2011 – Mister Heavenly @ Lincoln Hall

I don’t know too much about this band but I know Michael Cera plays bass for them. This song is catchy in a Surfer Blood kind of way.

January 15, 2011 – The Handsome Furs @ Lincoln Hall

This duo will provide me with my dose of Montreal music.

January 16, 2011 – Little Dragon @ Lincoln Hall

I’ve barely heard anything by this band but they are from Sweden so they have that going for them. Plus it gives me a chance to spend three nights in a row at Lincoln Hall.

Leave a Reply

