Tim Kasher @ Reckless Records on September 28, 2010

Posted: September 29, 2010 in Show Review

Tim Kasher just kicked off his tour this Monday in Minneapolis and this Tuesday in Chicago was his second stop. This show was pretty low key as it was only announced less than a couple of weeks in advance. The crowd was small; I would estimate that there were about 40 people there. The sound was surprisingly good for an instore performance. I had a great spot; I was standing so close that it was almost awkward. I really enjoyed the performance. I probably liked it more than the show at Tonic Room; I knew the songs better and it was even more intimate. I liked that Tim said that we should laugh at his songs. I am glad that he cleared that up because the lyrical content of his album is pretty cynical and, if taken seriously, would cause one to worry. I am afraid of burning out on Kasher but I am still looking forward to his performance at Schubas in two months.

Here is the set list:

  1. “I’m Afraid I’m Gonna Die Here”
  2. “No Fireworks”
  3. “Strays”
  4. “There Must Be Something I’ve Lost”
  5. “Bad, Bad Dreams”
  6. “Monogamy”
  7. “Soul Love” (David Bowie cover)
  8. “The Prodigal Husband”
  9. “Cold Love”

Here are some photos I took:

Comments
  1. […] can check out my reviews of Tim’s other Chicago shows here and […]

Leave a Reply

