Shows in October 2010

Posted: September 29, 2010 in Shows This Month

This month marks my triumphant return to Lincoln Hall:

  • October 1, 2010 – The Hold Steady @ The Vic
  • October 8, 2010 – Bad Religion, The Lawrence Arms, The Bouncing Souls @ Congress Theater
  • October 12, 2010 – forgetters @ Subterranean
  • October 14, 2010 – Surfer Blood @ Lincoln Hall
  • October 15, 2010 – Rocky Votolato, Ha Ha Tonka @ Beat Kitchen
  • October 22, 2010 – LCD Soundsystem, Hot Chip @ Eagles Ballroom

October 1, 2010 – The Hold Steady @ The Vic

Wow, has it been a year since I’ve seen the Hold Steady? Crazy.  So a few things have happened since the last time I saw them: Franz left the band and they put out a new album. I’m not worried though. They always put on a great live show so I am sure I’ll have fun.

October 8, 2010 – Bad Religion, The Lawrence Arms, Bouncing Souls @ Congress Theater

This would have been a perfect show for me when I was 15. I am only going because I got a sweet discount through Groupon. I still like all these bands, especially the Lawrence Arms, but I don’t listen to punk bands as much as I used to. I just hope it’s not too crazy because I can only take so much excitement.

October 12, 2010 – forgetters @ Subterranean

I am really psyched that they are playing Chicago. I wanted to see these guys at FFF last year but I didn’t have the cash for that. I am not really familiar with their stuff but it’s Blake Schwarzenbach so it has to be good.

October 14, 2010 – Surfer Blood @ Lincoln Hall

I haven’t seen these guys since they opened for Art Brut around this time last year at Lincoln Hall. I wanted to see them at SXSW and Pitchfork but both were unbelievably crowded. It’s crazy how popular these guys have gotten. It’ll be interesting to see them headline.

October 15, 2010 – Rocky Votolato, Ha Ha Tonka @ Beat Kitchen.

Two amazing acts on the same bill. I loved the last Rocky Votolato show; that was the living room show. It’ll be hard to top that one. Nevertheless, I can’t pass on an opportunity to see him play. I’ve seen Ha Ha Tonka a couple of times and they always seem to exceed my expectations. I am surprised those guys haven’t made it big yet. This should be a great way to spend a Friday.

October 22, 2010 – LCD Soundsystem, Hot Chip @ Eagles Ballroom (Milwaukee)

I last saw LCD Soundsystem at Pitchfork where they put on the best performance of the weekend. They were simply amazing. They turned that crowd into one big dance party. I bought this ticket way before they announced any Chicago dates. Oh well, it’ll be a chance for a trip out of town and I get to avoid going to Aragon; I really hate that place. I haven’t seen Hot Chip since ACL 2008. I am a much bigger fan of them now than I was then. I think this show will be awesome. Now I just need to figure out how I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

