Random Music Thoughts – September 14, 2010

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Random Music Thoughts

Saddle Creek finally sent me a stream of the new Tim Kasher album. Right off the bat, it’s a lot more orchestral than his live performance was, e.g. “Monogamy Overture.” I really dig “I’m Afraid I’m Gonna Die Here” and “Bad, Bad Dreams,” they remind me of Neutral Milk Hotel but I’m probably focusing on the trumpet too much. “Cold Love” is another highlight with its jangly guitar and emotional chorus. I’m sure I’ll have more thoughts after a few listens.

It looks like the Black Keys are playing Aragon on NYE. I am so glad I saw them at Metro earlier this year because I kind of hate Aragon.

You can download Warpaint’s “Undertow” over at Stereogum. I like this song, as it reminds me of their tour-mates the xx. I can’t wait for their full length to come out.

$50 tickets for Tomorrow Never Knows festival go on sale this Friday at noon. I am debating whether to get one. January seems so far away.

Third Man Records is putting on a triple decker single for the Dead Weather:

Leave a Reply

