Pitchfork 2010 Preview

Posted: July 15, 2010 in Shows This Month

So Pitchfork 2010 is coming up this weekend. I’ve never been before but I am really excited. There are a ton of bands playing so I am only going to talk about the ones I plan to see.

FRIDAY

The Tallest Man on Earth

I hadn’t heard of this guy until a few weeks ago. He definitely fits the type of music I’ve been listening to this year. He’s a folk singer/songwriter, playing acoustic guitar. Nothing groundbreaking here but the guy writes catchy songs. It’ll be interesting to see how he does in a festival setting. I just hope I make it out of work in time to see him play.

Liars

I remember listening to these guys back in college. I always thought of them as just a dance-punk band but it seems they actually do a lot more than that. I’ve been trying to listen to their newer albums but I’ll probably just stick with what I know. That old stuff is pretty good.

Robyn

I first heard about Robyn about two or three years ago so I was completely clueless as to her pop past. I think the first song I heard of hers was “Cobrastyle” but I am digging her new stuff too.

Broken Social Scene

It seems everyone loves this band but I’ve only gotten into them recently. I don’t know why I waited so long. I’ve loved pretty much every song I have heard by them. I expect them to put on the best performance of the night.

Modest Mouse

Wow, I finally get to see Modest Mouse. I never thought I’d get to see this band. Of all the bands playing on Friday, I am the most familiar with Modest Mouse. A few years ago, I would have listed them as one of my favorite bands. I used to like them a lot back in high school and college but I they haven’t put out anything that I’ve loved in probably 5 years. Lonesome Crowded West was one of my favorite albums back in the day. Getting to see them is more of a coincidence than anything else. I have no idea if they’ll put on a good show but I’ll definitely stay to watch them.

SATURDAY

Netherfriends

I am not sure how I first heard of them but I saw Netherfriends at one of those free Monday shows at Empty Bottle. They tend to open for a lot of good bands. Anyways, the one time I saw them live, they put on a good show and I expect no less on Saturday. “Friends With Lofts” is a great song.

Real Estate

I saw this band at Lincoln Hall back in March in my pre-SXSW music craze. I don’t remember too much about that show but I remember enjoying their performance. They are definitely very chill.

Titus Andronicus

I started listening to this band last year because they were opened for Lucero at Metro. Since that time, they’ve released a new album and received a ton of hype. I don’t know if they are greatest band around, as some would lead you to believe but they are definitely a solid band. I imagine that their performance will be one of the highlights of the fest.

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion

I had no idea that this band was still around. I was never a huge a fan of this band but they’re not bad. I saw them back in 1995 when they opened for the Beastie Boys. I remember thinking then that they were an odd band, I still think that but I’ll try to see them anyways.

LCD Soundsystem

I just recently became a fan of the excellent James Murphy but I am hooked. Although I was a fan of the Rapture and he did produce their “House of Jealous Lovers” so I was destined to become a fan of his stuff. Of all the headliners, I think this will be the wildest performance. Also, Lin thinks he looks like Brett Favre.

SUNDAY

Surfer Blood

I saw these guys when they opened for Art Brut last year. I had never heard of them before but I found them to be quite catchy. I tried to see them again at SXSW this year but by then they were too popular and their shows were packed. It’ll be nice to see them again now that I know their songs.

St. Vincent

This is one of those artists that I didn’t really listen to until I started prepping for Pitchfork. I bought her latest album on vinyl and I really like it. It’s a lot different from the music I listen to. It’s kind of weird but it’s awesome.

Sleigh Bells

I heard about this band in the lead up to SXSW. The press loves these kids. It’s so crazy that the guitarist was in Poison The Well. I remember liking that band in college, I never thought he’d end up in something like this. They remind me of a hip-hop influenced Atari Teenage Riot. I am sure the crowd will go nuts for them.

Pavement

It’s going to be odd going from the amped up music of Sleigh Bells to the laid back sounds of Pavement but I am sure I’ll manage. Obviously, this the biggest performance of the weekend. I think this is Pavement’s first show in Chicago in the last 11 years. Crazy. This is definitely a band I thought I would never get a chance to see. I’ve been listening to their stuff a lot lately. I think I forgot how much I like this band. I can’t wait to see them. Watching these videos reminds me of 120 Minutes.

Here are some assorted Pitchfork links:

You can read Chicagoist’s preview here.

AV Club has an interview with Liars here.

Time Out Chicago also has a ton of stuff about Pitchfork.

Leave a Reply

