Recent Favorites – July 5, 2010

Posted: July 13, 2010 in Favorites

I meant to post this last week, whoops.

Tokyo Police Club – “Tessellate”

I don’t know too much about this band but I like what I’ve heard. I know they toured with Passion Pit recently. I got a lot of their songs recommended via the Rogue Wave station on Pandora. I really like this song, “Tessellate.” It’s upbeat and the way he is singing kind of reminds me of John Vanderslice. I know these guys are playing next month at Metro so I might go see that.

The Do – “Shoulders”

I have no idea how this song got on my iPod but I really like it. This girl’s voice sounds so fragile, really depressing stuff but I can’t stop listening to it.

Spoon – “Nobody Gets Me But You”

This is off the latest Spoon album, Transference. I don’t really like too many songs of that new one but this song caught my attention. It’s got a darker tone than the other songs on the album. I really dig this bass line.

Glasvegas – “Geraldine”

Mike got me into this band earlier this year. I was definitely in a Scottish mood so these guys fit the bill. They are a lot better than their name would lead you to believe. This is my favorite song by them.

Pedro the Lion – “Options”

My latest fit of nostalgia had me revisiting some Pedro the Lion songs. This one in particular has been getting a lot of play.

Leave a Reply

