Random Music Thoughts – July 4, 2010

Posted: July 4, 2010 in Random Music Thoughts

Last night I went to the Rocky Votolato Living Room show. It was completely amazing. It’s probably the most intimate show I’ve ever been to. I don’t think I even been to house shows of local bands that were that small. It was really nice getting to connect with a musician like that. The audience was really into and it was awesome to hear him playing with no PA and no amplification, just him and a guitar. It was also cool because I got there early and got see him setting up. The actual show was from 8 to 9. I don’t remember everything he played but he did play my favorite song “White Day Passing” so I was pleased. It was definitely something special and I am really glad I went.

Today I went to go see Passion Pit at Taste of Chicago. I was on the fence about going but nothing else was going and I have been meaning to see them. It was a festival but I still figured it would be better than seeing them at Congress Theater. I got there around 2 and waited in line to get a seat. I ended up getting a seat about 15 rows from the stage so that wasn’t too bad. Robert Randolph played before Passion Pit and they were pretty good. The only thing that really sucked was the sun; it was pretty brutal but the sunburn was worth it for a good show. Passion Pit were great. I think they played for about 70 minutes. They had a surprising amount of energy considering the heat. The sound was also really good for an outdoor venue. Passion Pit played  every song I like by them. I found it kind of ironic to be playing “Feel It Rain” on such a sunny day.  They went off stage around 4:55 and then came back for an encore. They played 3 songs during their encore, including a Cranberries cover, “Dreams.” They finished their set with “Sleepyhead” and we all decided to ditch our seats and run up front. The security pretty much gave up on trying to hold back the crowd and just let everyone enjoy themselves. I had a great time, it was a nice way to spend the 4th of July.

Tomorrow the Thermals are playing Pritzker, the fun never ends.

Leave a Reply

