Shows in July 2010

Posted: July 2, 2010 in Shows This Month

Much like June, there are a ton of good shows coming up this month so let’s not waste any time, here we go:

  • July 3, 2010 – Rocky Votolato Living Room Show
  • July 4, 2010 – Passion Pit, Alejandro Escovedo @ Taste of Chicago
  • July 5, 2010 – The Thermals @ Millennium Park
  • July 10, 2010 – Spoon, The White Rabbits @ St. Pat’s
  • July 11, 2010 – We Were Promised Jetpacks @ West Fest
  • July 12, 2010 – We Were Promised Jetpacks @ Empty Bottle
  • July 16-18, 2010 – Pitchfork Fest @ Union Park
  • July 22, 2010 – Tapes N’ Tapes @ Lincoln Hall
  • July 23, 2010 – Langhorne Slim, Ha Ha Tonka @ Lincoln Hall
  • July 27, 2010 – The Gaslight Anthem @ House of Blues

July 3, 2010 – Rocky Votolato Living Room Show

This will be the second time I see Rocky Votolato but definitely the first time I see him in a living room. I think this will be a really cool and unique show. I only started listening to this guy recently. A Waxwing song came up on my iPod so I did a search to find out what happened to that band and came across Rocky’s solo stuff. I saw him at Schubas a while back and I enjoyed that show. This living room show should be even better.

July 4, 2010 – Passion Pit, Alejandro Escovedo @ Taste of Chicago

I am not sure if I’ll actually go this thing but I really want to see Passion Pit. I am still bummed about not seeing them last year when they played two shows at Empty Bottle. It seems these guys got huge overnight. This whole event could be complete chaos like when Salt N’ Pepa played last week.  Alejandro Escovedo is also playing. He seems like the kind of guy I should really be listening to more. I don’t know much of his stuff but I enjoyed him when he played the Bloodshot party at the Hideout last year.

July 5, 2010 – The Thermals @ Millennium Park

I pretty much love the Thermals and I’ll definitely go see them at Millennium Park. I remember when I first heard them like 5 years ago, I thought they were kind of weird but after seeing them twice at SXSW last year I became a fan. They are just so much better live than their records. I have been loving these New Music Mondays and I am sure this one will be a blast. I just hope it’s not as crowded as She & Him was.

July 10, 2010 – Spoon, The White Rabbits @ St. Pat’s

I don’t know too much about this self-proclaimed “World’s Largest Block Party” but it sounds kind of douchey. I am however a huge fan of Spoon and the White Rabbits. I saw the White Rabbits just a few months ago. However, I haven’t seen Spoon in almost 10 years. I still haven’t purchased a ticket so I don’t know if I’ll actually go this.  The tickets supposedly include five drinks but I don’t know how big those drinks are. We’ll see, it’s a toss up for now.

July 11, 2010 – We Were Promised Jetpacks @ West Fest / July 12, 2010 – We Were Promised Jetpacks @ Empty Bottle

Yeah, I’d probably see this band two nights in a row. I already bought my ticket to the Empty Bottle show before I realized they were playing West Fest. I like going to street fests so I’ll probably see them there as well. I saw these guys at Lincoln Hall at the beginning of the year and they put on a great show. I am a lot more familiar with their album now so I am sure I’ll enjoy them even more. Very energetic and very Scottish, it should be a good time.

July 16-18, 2010 – Pitchfork Fest @ Union Park

Wow, I don’t even know where to begin. I am going all three days and super excited. I haven’t seen Modest Mouse, LCD Soundsystem, or Pavement before so that will be fun. This thing is going to be walking distance from my place so that will be cool. I am sure I’ll make a whole post all about Pitchfork Fest. I think the all three days are sold out now so if you don’t have a ticket now, start checking craigslist. Here are some bands that I am not very familiar with:

July 22, 2010 – Tapes N’ Tapes @ Lincoln Hall

I am not too familiar with this band but I like a few of their songs. I have no idea how they are live but this is one of those shows that I’d go to just because it’s at Lincoln Hall.

July 23, 2010 – Langhorne Slim, Ha Ha Tonka @ Lincoln Hall

Another show at Lincoln Hall. I really like Langhorne Slim’s music. I feel like I’ve missed seeing him like three times now so I’d like to end that streak. I’ve seen Ha Ha Tonka once and I regret not seeing them when they toured with Murder by Death. This should be a good show.

July 27, 2010 – The Gaslight Anthem @ House of Blues

Of all the bands playing this month, I am pretty sure that The Gaslight Anthem will put on the best show. The House of Blues might drag them down a bit but they are such an amazing band live. I’ve seen them three times so far and they have always been good. I haven’t heard too much of their new album but I enjoyed what I heard so far. I just have to convince myself to pay the ridiculous ticket prices over at HOB.

Leave a Reply

