Matt Pond PA @ Lincoln Hall on June 8, 2010

Posted: June 9, 2010 in Show Review

I  got to this show at a decent hour so I managed to see one of the openers but I didn’t get to see the Hudson Branch. Sorry guys, maybe next time.

Wintersleep

Wintersleep put on a pretty good show. I had never heard of them before. I usually skip the opening bands but these guy had my attention. There was something very familiar about them. There was also something very Canadian about them. I guess with a name like Wintersleep it’s obvious that they are Canadian. They also had a Canadian sound, at times reminding me of the Weakerthans and the Rural Alberta Advantage.

Matt Pond PA

I never thought I’d see Matt Pond PA live. I got into them through Emblems. That album came out six year ago though. I assumed they would be broken up by now. During SXSW, I saw that they were playing a free show but I had a ton of other things to see so I had to pass on that. I was pleased to see that they were playing Lincoln Hall because that meant I’d finally get to see them. Of course, there have been quite a few albums in the last six years. I went into this show knowing that I had only heard a small fraction of their music. I was kind of apprehensive because it’s hard for me to enjoy shows where I don’t know the songs. However, I had no problem enjoying this show last night. These guys put on a great, energetic show. I didn’t know most of the songs but I enjoyed everything they played. I can’t think of one dull moment from their set. Obviously, I enjoyed songs off of Emblems like “Claire” and “New Hampshire” but I also enjoyed the newer songs. In particular, I really liked “Ruins.” I don’t know how much I’d listen to Matt Pond PA on a regular basis but I’d definitely go to another show if given the opportunity.

Leave a Reply

