The Lawrence Arms @ Subterranean on May 19, 2010

Posted: May 21, 2010 in Show Review

So I went to the Lawrence Arms show at Subterranean. I generally hate shows there because the sight lines are horrible. Unless you are right up front, it’s hard to see anything. The sound also isn’t the greatest. However, Subterranean does allow for an intimate experience. It holds only about 400 people but I imagine that the floor holds only about 300.

I was on the balcony with Lee for the band right before the Lawrence Arms. They sounded pretty good but I couldn’t see anything from up there.  I ended up having to ditch Lee because I wanted to actually see the Lawrence Arms. I wound up in the middle of the floor before the Lawrence Arms started but once the music kicked in everyone rushed up front and went crazy. I managed to get about 4 people deep to the stage without jumping in front of anyone. I don’t even remember what their first song was. Once the music started I just got really into it, jumping around like crazy until I had to catch my breath. Most of the show was a blur. Highlights included “Turnstiles,” “Recovering the Opposable Thumb,” “The Rambling Boys of Pleasure,” “Great Lakes/Great Escapes,” and “The Slowest Drink At The Saddest Bar On The Snowiest Day In The Greatest City.” I know they played “Every Rose Has It’s Thorn” while they were changing out the kick drum. They did two songs for an encore, I don’t remember the first but the second was “Like A Record Player.” I was completely exhausted by the time the show ended so I know I had a great time. Sadly, just like at Metro last year, they did not play “The Devil’s Taking Names.” Oh well, it was a great show and I am glad I went.

Leave a Reply

