White Rabbits @ Metro on April 25, 2010

Posted: April 26, 2010 in Show Review

I missed the first band, Pet Lions, because I was hanging at Gingerman before the show. I was really surprised that the show didn’t sell out. In fact, I don’t think I’ve been to a touring show at Metro that was this sparse.

Here We Go Magic

I wasn’t too familiar with Here We Go Magic before the show so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I had seen a couple of videos of them live and heard their album. I would have to say I wasn’t that impressed. A lot of their songs seemed too slow and were a bit repetitive. Also their stage demeanor didn’t really fit the music they were playing. I had a similar feeling when I saw Avi Buffalo a few weeks ago. However, I did like a few of their songs. For example, the third song they played had an uptempo math rock feel to it, I believe it was “Collector.” I think that would have been a great song to start of their set. Overall, it was a decent performance but I enjoyed only a quarter of it. Maybe I’d see them again if their other songs grow on me, but I doubt it.

White Rabbits

For those who don’t know, White Rabbits are a six-piece based out of Brooklyn. As for the show, White Rabbits were great but I was completely exhausted so I don’t remember too much. I ended up staying for most of their set but had to call it a night during their encore. Thankfully I got to see them play “Percussion Gun.” I even took out my earplugs so I could hear it properly. They had three guys playing drums for that one, it was intense.

White Rabbits have a crisp, tight sound and lots of catchy, energetic songs. In fact, they executed every song on such a high level that it’s hard to narrow down the highlights. That said, I enjoyed “The Plot,” “Kid On My Shoulders” and, of course, the aforementioned “Percussion Gun. White Rabbits are the kind of band I want to see succeed on a grand level. I could see them getting there much in the way that Kings of Leon has, but I am glad I got to see them at a relatively small venue. White Rabbits put on a great live show and I eagerly await the next time they are in town. Maybe next time they’ll be playing the Riv.

Somewhat related, I really liked this recap of their show in Denver, especially the comparisons Ms. Zemler makes between the performances of Here We Go Magic and White Rabbits.

Leave a Reply

