Recent Favorites – April 11, 2010

Posted: April 11, 2010 in Random Music Thoughts

I try to update my iTunes playlists often so I can get a fresh rotation of music. While going through the playlists this week, there were several songs I cleared off that deserve recommendation. Here they are, in no particular order. Enjoy.

Vampire Weekend – Giving Up The Gun

I have no idea what this song is about but I had it as my alarm everyday for like two months. It’s great. I particularly enjoy the xylophone parts.

The Middle East – Blood

I became addicted to this song when I was prepping for SXSW. I love this song. It starts very subtle and builds up to an immense finish. It also has xylophone and whistling, it doesn’t get better than that.

The Antlers – Epilogue

I heard of this band through Mike. This is probably my favorite song of theirs. I am thinking about going to see them later this month. We’ll see if I actually go. By the way, this video cuts off at the end for some reason, bummer.

Bibio – Lovers’ Carvings

I stumbled upon Bibio simply because Mel bought their album on a whim at the record store. I really like this song. It does this twee  instrumental thing for about two minutes, then it gets a little more disco upbeat and danceable.

Kings of Convenience – Scars on Land

I haven’t really listened to much of this band but I really like this song. There is something about the melodies to this song, they sound kind of scary in an entrancing way.

Loch Lomond – Bird and a Bear

Now this song is super twee but I like it. I think I saw these guys open for Blitzen Trapper at Empty Bottle last year.

Maps – Don’t Fear

I think I have run out of things to say but yeah this song is good. It’s a nice emotional electro anthem.

Leave a Reply

