Random Music Thoughts – April 2, 2010

Posted: April 2, 2010 in Random Music Thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

The Hold Steady released another new song today, “The Weekenders.” It’s probably my favorite of their new songs so far. Can’t wait to jump around to it the next time I see them. Listen to “The Weekenders” here.

This is why I don’t like big shows in Chicago. Apparently the Spoon show @ Aragon kind of sucked. Now I don’t feel so bad about missing it. I saw them once at Emo’s back in college and I don’t think it’ll get better than that. Here’s is Kot’s review of the Aragon performance. I guess the sound was pretty bad. Now that I think about, when I saw Tegan & Sara there last week, it was nearly impossible to hear Tegan singing.

Stereogum has a Progress Report with Ra Ra Riot. Sounds like the next album will be great.

Murder by Death have their new album, Good Morning Magpie streaming. I’ve listened to a few tracks so far. Pretty good from what I have heard. I love that the first two tracks have bourbon and whiskey in their respective titles. I really need to buy tickets for their show next month but I keep forgetting.

Pitchfork talks up “Year’s Not Long” by Male Bonding. It’s a good song with infectious energy.

No surprise here but the new Band of Horses song is great. Too bad they aren’t doing a headlining tour anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

